- It Is What It Is - http://itiswhatitis.weei.com -

Fantasy Football: Week 10 Starts, Sits

Posted By Peter Davidson On November 10, 2012 @ 5:51 pm In General | No Comments

Welcome to the Week 10 starts and sits. It’€™s nice to be back after a long Superstorm Sandy outage. For those looking for lineup help Sunday, we will be doing our weekly chat starting at 11 a.m. right here at WEEI.com. Just follow the link on the homepage tomorrow. As usual, I have done my best to isolate options that are not terribly obvious and that fall near the margins in 12-team formats. I will be finishing our full Week 10 rankings at Rotobahn.com later today [1], so check there if I don’€™t cover your players here.

QUARTERBACKS

STARTS

Carson Palmer [2], Raiders at Ravens

He knows how to play the Ravens’€™ defense from all those divisional battles from his Bengal days. He won’€™t be surprised by anything they do and he knows how to keep an eye on Ed Reed [3]. With his top two backs out, he will undoubtedly need to throw the ball to win the game. We like him as a start in all formats.

Josh Freeman [4], Bucs vs. Chargers

He’€™s rolling and the Chargers don’€™t scare us much despite their modest success on defense this year. Look for him to find Vincent Jackson [5] for some big plays and to use all his other weapons too. The Bucs have outstanding balance now that they have truly unleashed Doug Martin [6]. Roll with your Bucs, folks.  Freeman is a good play in any league.

Joe Flacco [7], Ravens vs. Raiders

Yes, he’€™s been very tough to trust in any way, but this is a sweet matchup at home, so you should get a solid statistical day from Flacco.  He is worth a start in most formats.

SITS

Michael Vick [8], Eagles vs. Cowboys

He has some upside due to his phenomenal athleticism, but right now, his offensive line is a complete disaster and I have serious concerns about what they can do to slow down the Dallas defense. This is a week to at least consider benching Vick, especially in 10-team leagues.

Sam Bradford [9], Rams at 49ers [10]

Yes, he has been playing better, and yes, he should get Danny Amendola [11] back this week. That being said, the matchup is brutal and there are better options on waiver wires in most 10-team leagues.

RUNNING BACKS

STARTS

Michael Turner [12], Falcons at Saints

We told you Turner owners early on that he would maintain more value than a lot of fantasy outlets were saying. This is one of the weeks we alluded to back then. The Saints can’€™t stop anything on the ground and Atlanta will pound the rock to keep Brees and company off the field. We also see him getting some clock killing action down the stretch. Turner is a good percentage play in all formats this week.

Pierre Thomas [13], Saints vs. Falcons

The Saints did a lot of power running in Week 9, but that is probably not the tonic for Week 10 versus Atlanta. We see Pierre’€™s diversity being a big pre-snap advantage in this game and we expect more touches than he saw last week. Darren Sproles [14] is out again with a hand injury.  Thomas can start for you in any league if you need him and makes a very solid play as an RB2 or flex in 12-team leagues.

Jonathan Stewart [15], Panthers vs. Broncos [16]

In fairness, I’€™ve had some issues figuring out just what they are trying to do in Carolina, but in my defense, I am not alone.  Even the Panthers’€™ players have expressed exasperation with the play-calling at times. This week, it seems clear that they need to control the football to keep Peyton Manning [17] off the field. That should translate to a very solid dose of Stewart. I like him as a strong RB2 play in 12-team leagues and a viable start in any format.

Taiwan Jones, Raiders at Ravens

This is a recommendation for large leagues. Both Darren McFadden and Mike Goodson are out this week, and that leaves Jones and Marcel Reece to handle all the snaps. I’€™m a big fan of Jones’€™ ability and he may have a coming-out party this week if they can get him enough touches. Understand that, for sure, there is risk. Jones has ball security issues and has had trouble in pass protection, but they will need him this week. The kid can hit the home run and make would-be tacklers look foolish if he gets the rock in space. If you are in a pinch in a big league, this kid could save your bacon. He’€™s a sweet flier in Week 10 if you can stomach the hit-or-miss aspect of it.

SITS

Steven Jackson [18], Rams at 49ers

He is always viable because he’€™s a good back and he can make a big play, but he is still ceding carries to Daryl Richardson and the matchup is not at all good. If you have other solid options, this is a week to use them.

BenJarvus Green-Ellis [19], Bengals vs. Giants [20]

He’€™s banged-up a bit and he’€™s been a poor performer lately. That said, it’€™s the matchup we really don’€™t like. The way to beat the Giants is to throw the football. They handle the run well and they have a shaky secondary. While we do rank BJGE as our 24th back this week, we also recommend that you check our rankings as we may have one of your other second tier guys ranked higher.  Isaac Redman or Pierre Thomas are two examples.

WIDE RECEIVERS

STARTS

Malcom Floyd [21], Chargers at Bucs

He’€™s their number one option right now and they will need to throw the ball this week. We expect Floyd to post solid WR3 numbers in Week 10.

Brian Hartline, Dolphins vs. Titans

This is a bit of a no-brainer after Hartline proved that he is healthy last week. The matchup is excellent and he’€™s rolling right now. He makes a very good start as a WR3 in any league.

Kenny Britt, Titans at Dolphins

Yes, he has been very frustrating, but he’€™s been close to a number of scores and has been hurt by drops and a few very specious offensive PI calls. I’€™d stick with Britt unless you are really well loaded at receiver. He has a chance to score every week and this is a game where they will have no choice but to throw the pill. I also see the return of QB Jake Locker [22] as a potential plus for Britt, who is a good target for an aggressive thrower like Locker.

Emmanuel Sanders, Steelers vs. Chiefs

With Antonio Brown [23] very likely to miss the game on Monday night, those in deep leagues can look to Sanders as a nice upside play. If you are in need, you could do worse in deeper formats.

SITS

Chris Givens, Rams at 49ers

I like this kid plenty, but his game is not well suited for success against a 49ers team that plays a ton of 2-deep and takes away the downfield game as well as any team in football. The return of Amendola is of smaller concern as Givens should dovetail well with his game. It’€™s just this week’€™s matchup that I worry about. Givens is a guy to own in 12-team leagues, but he’€™s a risky play in Week 10.

Sidney Rice [24], Seahawks [25] vs. Jets

He’€™ll draw the Jets’€™ number one CB Antonio Cromartie [26], so this may be a week to sit him as they are fairly conservative in Seattle these days. Rice is viable if you need him, but we expect lesser numbers than usual.

TIGHT ENDS

STARTS

Heath Miller [27], Steelers vs. Chiefs

He had a down game in Week 9, but with Antonio Brown out in Week 10, we like his chances of getting increased targets. Miller is a solid TE1 in all formats on Monday night at home versus the Chiefs.

Vernon Davis, 49ers vs. Rams

I know he’€™s been killing his owners lately, but you need to stick with Davis unless you just happen to have another stud TE on hand. He has a very solid history against the Rams and he is going to go off soon. He should be active in all formats.

Dustin Keller [28], Jets at Seahawks

The Jets need Keller this week. He’€™s not a good pass protector, so we doubt he gets reallocated to slow down the ample Seahawk pass rush. Rather, he is likely to be used as an outlet for Sanchez and should be the top option for New York in the passing game. He is a solid start if you need him.

SITS

Owen Daniels [29], Texans at Bears

They are holding out hope that he can play and play effectively, but we strongly suggest that you do not follow suit. There’€™s a good chance that he sits out and there’€™s a good chance that, if he plays, that he is limited and ineffective. Look elsewhere if you can. Now–if you opt to hold out for Daniels, I strongly suggest you try to roster a backup option in case he sits out. The Bears’€™ Kellen Davis is one option to consider. Another would be KC’€™s Tony Moeaki. Both are long-shots for quality production, but beggars can’€™t be choosers.

Brent Celek [30], Eagles vs. Cowboys

Unlike Dustin Keller, Celek is a decent in-line blocker and could lose targets while he is helping out on DE DeMarcus Ware [31]. Celek is a good guy to sit in Week 10 if you have other options.


Article printed from It Is What It Is: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com

URL to article: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/11/10/fantasy-football-week-10-starts-sits/

URLs in this post:

[1] Welcome to the Week 10 starts and sits. It’€™s nice to be back after a long Superstorm Sandy outage. For those looking for lineup help Sunday, we will be doing our weekly chat starting at 11 a.m. right here at WEEI.com. Just follow the link on the homepage tomorrow. As usual, I have done my best to isolate options that are not terribly obvious and that fall near the margins in 12-team formats. I will be finishing our full Week 10 rankings at Rotobahn.com later today: http://rotobahn.com/

[2] Carson Palmer: http://media.weei.com/football/carson-palmer.htm

[3] Ed Reed: http://media.weei.com/football/ed-reed.htm

[4] Josh Freeman: http://media.weei.com/football/josh-freeman.htm

[5] Vincent Jackson: http://media.weei.com/football/vincent-jackson.htm

[6] Doug Martin: http://media.weei.com/football/doug-martin-boise-state.htm

[7] Joe Flacco: http://media.weei.com/football/joe-flacco.htm

[8] Michael Vick: http://media.weei.com/football/michael-vick.htm

[9] Sam Bradford: http://media.weei.com/football/sam-bradford.htm

[10] 49ers: http://media.weei.com/football/san-francisco-49ers.htm

[11] Danny Amendola: http://media.weei.com/football/danny-amendola.htm

[12] Michael Turner: http://media.weei.com/football/michael-turner.htm

[13] Pierre Thomas: http://media.weei.com/football/pierre-thomas.htm

[14] Darren Sproles: http://media.weei.com/football/darren-sproles.htm

[15] Jonathan Stewart: http://media.weei.com/football/jonathan-stewart.htm

[16] Broncos: http://media.weei.com/football/denver-broncos.htm

[17] Peyton Manning: http://media.weei.com/football/peyton-manning.htm

[18] Steven Jackson: http://media.weei.com/football/steven-jackson.htm

[19] BenJarvus Green-Ellis: http://media.weei.com/football/benjarvus-green-ellis.htm

[20] Giants: http://media.weei.com/baseball/san-francisco-giants.htm

[21] Malcom Floyd: http://media.weei.com/football/malcom-floyd.htm

[22] Jake Locker: http://media.weei.com/football/jake-locker.htm

[23] Antonio Brown: http://media.weei.com/football/antonio-brown.htm

[24] Sidney Rice: http://media.weei.com/football/sidney-rice.htm

[25] Seahawks: http://media.weei.com/football/seattle-seahawks.htm

[26] Antonio Cromartie: http://media.weei.com/football/antonio-cromartie.htm

[27] Heath Miller: http://media.weei.com/football/heath-miller.htm

[28] Dustin Keller: http://media.weei.com/football/dustin-keller.htm

[29] Owen Daniels: http://media.weei.com/football/owen-daniels.htm

[30] Brent Celek: http://media.weei.com/football/brent-celek.htm

[31] DeMarcus Ware: http://media.weei.com/football/demarcus-ware.htm

[32] > Fantasy Football: Week 10 Starts, Sits" data-url="http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/11/10/fantasy-football-week-10-starts-sits/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[33]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.