- It Is What It Is - http://itiswhatitis.weei.com -

Following the flags: Tracking Patriots penalties for 2012 season

Posted By Christopher Price On November 13, 2012 @ 3:17 pm In General | No Comments

Through nine games, the Patriots have been flagged for 55 penalties (22nd in the league) for a total of 467 yards (23rd in the league). Here’€™s a breakdown of the calls that have gone against the Patriots this year, not including penalties that were declined or offset:

Most penalized players, listed by total flags and with total yardage lost:
TE Rob Gronkowski [1]: four penalties (two offensive holding, false start, offensive pass interference), 35 yards
DL Vince Wilfork [2]: four penalties (two encroachment, defensive offsides, facemask), 30 yards
Team: four penalties (illegal formation, illegal shift, illegal block above the waist, defensive holding), 25 yards
CB Devin McCourty [3]: three penalties (defensive holding, two defensive pass interference), 51 yards
LB Brandon Spikes [4]: three penalties (defensive holding, unnecessary roughness, roughing the passer), 35 yards
LB Jerod Mayo [5]: three penalties (two defensive pass interference, one unnecessary roughness) 23 yards
CB Ras-I Dowling: two penalties (defensive pass interference, defensive holding), 19 yards
WR Julian Edelman [6]: two penalties (false start, offensive pass interference), 15 yards
OL Donald Thomas: two penalties (false start, offensive holding), 15 yards
ST Niko Koutouvides: two penalties (defensive holding, illegal block above the waist), 14 yards
OT Sebastian Vollmer [7]: two penalties (illegal formation, false start), 10 yards
DE Chandler Jones: two penalties (encroachment, defensive offsides) 10 yards
CB Alfonzo Dennard: two penalties (defensive holding, unnecessary roughness), 20 yards
TE Daniel Fells: two penalties (false start, offensive pass interference), 12 yards
S Pat Chung [8]: one penalty (defensive pass interference), 40 yards
S Steve Gregory [9]: one penalty (personal foul), 15 yards
WR Brandon Lloyd [10]: one penalty (offensive pass interference), 10 yards
LB Dont’€™a Hightower: one penalty (defensive holding), 10 yards
C Ryan Wendell: one penalty (offensive holding), 10 yards
S Tavon Wilson: one penalty (offensive holding’€“punt return team), 10 yards
ST Nate Ebner: one penalty (offensive holding), 10 yards
QB Tom Brady [11]: one penalty (intentional grounding), 10 yards
CB Kyle Arrington [12]: one penalty (defensive holding), 5 yards
LS Danny Aiken: one penalty (false start) 5 yards
G Logan Mankins [13]: one penalty (false start), 5 yards
OT Nate Solder [14]: one penalty (false start), 5 yards
TE Aaron Hernandez [15]: one penalty (false start), 5 yards
ST Matthew Slater [16]: one penalty (offsides on free kick), 5 yards
DL Jake Bequette: one penalty (encroachment), 5 yards
DL Jermaine Cunningham [17]: one penalty (encroachment), 5 yards
DE Rob Ninkovich [18]: one penalty (encroachment) 3 yards
RB Stevan Ridley: one penalty (false start), 5 yards

Most penalized by position:
Defensive line: Nine penalties for 53 yards
Cornerback: Eight penalties for 90 yards
Tight end: Seven penalties for 52 yards
Offensive line: Seven penalties for 45 yards
Linebacker: Seven penalties for 63 yards
Specialists (punter, kicker, long snapper, kick/punt units): Six penalties for 44 yards
Team: Four penalties for 25 yards
Wide receiver: Three penalties for 25 yards
Safety: Two penalties for 55 yards
Quarterback: One penalty for 10 yards
Running back: One penalty for 5 yards

Most frequently called penalties:
False start: 10
Defensive holding: Seven
Defensive pass interference: Six
Offensive holding: Six
Encroachment: Six
Offensive pass interference: Four
Defensive offsides: Three
Unnecessary roughness: Three
Illegal block above the waist: Two
Illegal formation: Two
Intentional grounding: One
Personal foul: One
Illegal shift: One
Offsides on free kick: One
Roughing the passer: One
Facemask: One


Article printed from It Is What It Is: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com

URL to article: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/11/13/following-the-flags-tracking-patriots-penalties-for-2012-season-7/

URLs in this post:

[1] Rob Gronkowski: http://media.weei.com/football/rob-gronkowski.htm

[2] Vince Wilfork: http://media.weei.com/football/vince-wilfork.htm

[3] Devin McCourty: http://media.weei.com/football/devin-mccourty.htm

[4] Brandon Spikes: http://media.weei.com/football/brandon-spikes.htm

[5] Jerod Mayo: http://media.weei.com/football/jerod-mayo.htm

[6] Julian Edelman: http://media.weei.com/football/julian-edelman.htm

[7] Sebastian Vollmer: http://media.weei.com/football/sebastian-vollmer.htm

[8] Pat Chung: http://media.weei.com/football/pat-chung.htm

[9] Steve Gregory: http://media.weei.com/football/steve-gregory.htm

[10] Brandon Lloyd: http://media.weei.com/football/brandon-lloyd.htm

[11] Tom Brady: http://media.weei.com/football/tom-brady.htm

[12] Kyle Arrington: http://media.weei.com/football/kyle-arrington.htm

[13] Logan Mankins: http://media.weei.com/football/logan-mankins.htm

[14] Nate Solder: http://media.weei.com/football/nate-solder.htm

[15] Aaron Hernandez: http://media.weei.com/football/aaron-hernandez.htm

[16] Matthew Slater: http://media.weei.com/football/matthew-slater.htm

[17] Jermaine Cunningham: http://media.weei.com/football/jermaine-cunningham.htm

[18] Rob Ninkovich: http://media.weei.com/football/rob-ninkovich.htm

[19] > Following the flags: Tracking Patriots penalties for 2012 season" data-url="http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/11/13/following-the-flags-tracking-patriots-penalties-for-2012-season-7/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[20]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.