- It Is What It Is - http://itiswhatitis.weei.com -

First-quarter notes: Colts 14, Patriots 7

Posted By Christopher Price On November 18, 2012 @ 4:58 pm In General | 6 Comments

FOXBORO — One quarter is in the books here at Gillette Stadium [1], and the Colts have a 14-7 lead. Here are a few quick notes:

‘€¢Defensively, the Patriots opened the game with Aqib Talib [2] at left corner and Kyle Arrington [3] on the right side, with Devin McCourty [4] at safety. They changed coverages at times throughout Indy’s first drive of the afternoon — and it appeared that most of the time, Talib operated in man coverage against Wayne. (Arrington was called for two penalties in the first quarter — one was declined — and was eventually subbed out in favor of Alfonzo Dennard.)

‘€¢Regardless of the coverage, the Colts got on the board first with a seven-play, 80-yard drive that took 4:11 and was highlighted (or lowlighted?) by a 40-yard pass interference penalty on Arrington that set up Indy for its first score of the game, a one-yard run from Delone Carter.

‘€¢New England answered quickly, as Tom Brady [5] got things going with an 18-yard completion over the middle to Julian Edelman [6] (Edelman’s longest reception of the season). That was followed up by a 36-yarder from Brady to Rob Gronkowski [7] that got New England deep into Indy territory. Two plats later, Brady went back to Gronk for the touchdown pass, a 4-yarder that tied the game with 7:07 left in the first quarter.

‘€¢Defensive end Chandler Jones went down with what appeared to be a right ankle injury midway through the first quarter. With Jones out, the Patriots flipped Rob Ninkovich [8] to the other side and Jermaine Cunningham [9] came into the game at the other defensive end spot.

‘€¢The Colts re-took the lead on their second series, as Luck delivered a laser-beam to the back of the end zone to T.Y. Hilton – who appeared to beat Talib — to put the exclamation point on a 10-play, 86-yard drive that made it 14-7 late in the first quarter.


Article printed from It Is What It Is: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com

URL to article: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/11/18/first-quarter-notes-colts-14-patriots-7/

URLs in this post:

[1] Gillette Stadium: http://media.weei.com/football/gillette-stadium.htm

[2] Aqib Talib: http://media.weei.com/football/aqib-talib.htm

[3] Kyle Arrington: http://media.weei.com/football/kyle-arrington.htm

[4] Devin McCourty: http://media.weei.com/football/devin-mccourty.htm

[5] Tom Brady: http://media.weei.com/football/tom-brady.htm

[6] Julian Edelman: http://media.weei.com/football/julian-edelman.htm

[7] Rob Gronkowski: http://media.weei.com/football/rob-gronkowski.htm

[8] Rob Ninkovich: http://media.weei.com/football/rob-ninkovich.htm

[9] Jermaine Cunningham: http://media.weei.com/football/jermaine-cunningham.htm

[10] > First-quarter notes: Colts 14, Patriots 7" data-url="http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/11/18/first-quarter-notes-colts-14-patriots-7/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.