- It Is What It Is - http://itiswhatitis.weei.com -

Second-quarter notes: Patriots 24, Colts 17

Posted By Christopher Price On November 18, 2012 @ 5:52 pm In General | No Comments

FOXBORO — An eventful second quarter is in the books, as the Patriots scored 17 points and are up on the Colts, 24-17, at the half. (For a look at the first-quarter action, click here [1].)

‘€¢The Patriots first drive of the second quarter ended with a missed 36-yard field goal for Stephen Gostkowski [2] toward the open end of Gillette. (Gostkowski heard some boos after his miss, thus becoming the second kicker who was booed on the afternoon after Patriots fans developed a collective case of amnesia and booed Indy’s Adam Vinatieri [3] when he came on for his first two extra-point attempts of the afternoon.)

‘€¢Despite the Gostkowski miss, the Patriots got a break early in the second. On the Colts’ first drive of the second quarter, linebacker Dont’a Hightower knocked one pass down, setting up a third-and-long situation for the Colts. Vince Wilfork [4] followed that up with a batted pass on the next play, forcing Indy to punt. Julian Edelman [5] then woke up Gillette Stadium [6] when he delivered a 68-yard punt return for a touchdown. There were some impressive cuts on the play by the former college quarterback, who tip-toed along the New England sideline on the way to the end zone and never really had to break tackles on the way to the third return for a touchdown for his career.

‘€¢The Patriots continued a nice run on Indy’s next possession when a Luck pass for Reggie Wayne [7] in the middle of the field — a floater that the quarterback would love to have back — was picked off by Aqib Talib [8]. Talib then did a masterful job on his way to the end zone, directing blockers as he took it all the way back for a 59-yard touchdown return. (On the play, Wilfork was able to get good pressure on Luck, forcing the bad throw. And Steve Gregory [9] delivered a nice block that helped clear the way for Talib on the way to the end zone.)

‘€¢The two sides then traded field goals. First, the Colts drew to within 21-17 midway through the second when Luck — who had a couple of balls knocked down and also made a dangerous throw or two — guided Indy on a 12-play, 52-yard drive that ended with a 47-yard field goal from Vinatieri with 5:46 left in the second. Second, the Patriots had a drive with a 15-yard completion to Rob Gronkowski [10] and an 18-yarder to Wes Welker [11], but ended with a 31-yard field goal by Gostkowski to make it 24-17.


Article printed from It Is What It Is: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com

URL to article: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/11/18/second-quarter-notes-patriots-24-colts-17/

URLs in this post:

[1] click here: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/11/18/first-quarter-notes-colts-14-patriots-7/

[2] Stephen Gostkowski: http://media.weei.com/football/stephen-gostkowski.htm

[3] Adam Vinatieri: http://media.weei.com/football/adam-vinatieri.htm

[4] Vince Wilfork: http://media.weei.com/football/vince-wilfork.htm

[5] Julian Edelman: http://media.weei.com/football/julian-edelman.htm

[6] Gillette Stadium: http://media.weei.com/football/gillette-stadium.htm

[7] Reggie Wayne: http://media.weei.com/football/reggie-wayne.htm

[8] Aqib Talib: http://media.weei.com/football/aqib-talib.htm

[9] Steve Gregory: http://media.weei.com/football/steve-gregory.htm

[10] Rob Gronkowski: http://media.weei.com/football/rob-gronkowski.htm

[11] Wes Welker: http://media.weei.com/football/wes-welker.htm

[12] > Second-quarter notes: Patriots 24, Colts 17" data-url="http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/11/18/second-quarter-notes-patriots-24-colts-17/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.