- It Is What It Is - http://itiswhatitis.weei.com -

Following the flags: Tracking Patriots penalties for 2012 season

Posted By Christopher Price On December 4, 2012 @ 6:40 pm In General | No Comments

Through 12 games, the Patriots have been flagged for 73 penalties (tied for 22nd in the league) for a total of 624 yards (19th in the league). Here’€™s a breakdown of the calls that have gone against the Patriots this year, not including penalties that were declined or offset:

Most penalized players, listed by total flags and with total yardage lost:
LB Jerod Mayo [1]: five penalties (two defensive pass interference, unnecessary roughness, illegal contact, roughing the passer) 43 yards
LB Brandon Spikes [2]: five penalties (two defensive holding, unnecessary roughness, roughing the passer, encroachment), 41 yards
DL Vince Wilfork [3]: five penalties (three encroachment, defensive offsides, facemask), 35 yards
Team: five penalties (illegal formation, illegal shift, illegal block above the waist, defensive holding, 12 men on the field), 30 yards
TE Rob Gronkowski [4]: four penalties (two offensive holding, false start, offensive pass interference), 35 yards
CB Devin McCourty [5]: three penalties (defensive holding, two defensive pass interference), 51 yards
OL Donald Thomas: three penalties (false start, two offensive holding), 25 yards
CB Alfonzo Dennard: three penalties (defensive holding, two unnecessary roughness), 21 yards
OT Sebastian Vollmer [6]: three penalties (illegal formation, false start, offensive holding), 20 yards
TE Daniel Fells: three penalties (false start, offensive pass interference, offensive holding), 18 yards
CB Kyle Arrington [7]: two penalties (defensive pass interference, defensive holding), 45 yards
QB Tom Brady [8]: two penalties (two intentional grounding), 19 yards
CB Ras-I Dowling: two penalties (defensive pass interference, defensive holding), 19 yards
TE Aaron Hernandez [9]: two penalties (offensive pass interference, false start), 15 yards
WR Julian Edelman [10]: two penalties (false start, offensive pass interference), 15 yards
OT Nate Solder [11]: two penalties (offensive holding, false start), 15 yards
ST Nate Ebner: two penalties (false start, offensive holding), 15 yards
ST Niko Koutouvides: two penalties (defensive holding, illegal block above the waist), 14 yards
DL Jermaine Cunningham [12]: two penalties (encroachment, defensive holding), 10 yards
DE Chandler Jones: two penalties (encroachment, defensive offsides) 10 yards
RB Stevan Ridley: two penalties (false start, chop block), 5 yards
S Pat Chung [13]: one penalty (defensive pass interference), 40 yards
S Steve Gregory [14]: one penalty (personal foul), 15 yards
CB Aqib Talib [15]: one penalty (defensive pass interference), 14 yards
WR Brandon Lloyd [16]: one penalty (offensive pass interference), 10 yards
LB Dont’€™a Hightower: one penalty (defensive holding), 10 yards
C Ryan Wendell: one penalty (offensive holding), 10 yards
S Tavon Wilson: one penalty (offensive holding’€“punt return team), 10 yards
LS Danny Aiken: one penalty (false start) 5 yards
G Logan Mankins [17]: one penalty (false start), 5 yards
ST Matthew Slater [18]: one penalty (offsides on free kick), 5 yards
DL Jake Bequette: one penalty (encroachment), 5 yards
DE Rob Ninkovich [19]: one penalty (encroachment) 3 yards

Most penalized by position:
Cornerback: 11 penalties for 145 yards
Linebacker: 11 penalties for 89 yards
Defensive line: 11 penalties for 63 yards
Offensive line: 10 penalties for 75 yards
Tight end: Nine penalties for 68 yards
Specialists (punter, kicker, long snapper, kick/punt units): Seven penalties for 49 yards
Team: Five penalties for 30 yards
Wide receiver: Three penalties for 25 yards
Safety: Two penalties for 55 yards
Quarterback: Two penalties for 19 yards
Running back: Two penalties for 5 yards

Most frequently called penalties:
False start: 11
Offensive holding: 10
Defensive holding: Nine
Encroachment: Eight
Defensive pass interference: Eight
Offensive pass interference: Five
Unnecessary roughness: Four
Defensive offsides: Three
Roughing the passer: Two
Illegal block above the waist: Two
Illegal formation: Two
Intentional grounding: Two
Personal foul: One
Illegal shift: One
Offsides on free kick: One
Facemask: One
Illegal contact: One
Chop block: One
12 men on the field: One


Article printed from It Is What It Is: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com

URL to article: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/12/04/following-the-flags-tracking-patriots-penalties-for-2012-season-10/

URLs in this post:

[1] Jerod Mayo: http://media.weei.com/football/jerod-mayo.htm

[2] Brandon Spikes: http://media.weei.com/football/brandon-spikes.htm

[3] Vince Wilfork: http://media.weei.com/football/vince-wilfork.htm

[4] Rob Gronkowski: http://media.weei.com/football/rob-gronkowski.htm

[5] Devin McCourty: http://media.weei.com/football/devin-mccourty.htm

[6] Sebastian Vollmer: http://media.weei.com/football/sebastian-vollmer.htm

[7] Kyle Arrington: http://media.weei.com/football/kyle-arrington.htm

[8] Tom Brady: http://media.weei.com/football/tom-brady.htm

[9] Aaron Hernandez: http://media.weei.com/football/aaron-hernandez.htm

[10] Julian Edelman: http://media.weei.com/football/julian-edelman.htm

[11] Nate Solder: http://media.weei.com/football/nate-solder.htm

[12] Jermaine Cunningham: http://media.weei.com/football/jermaine-cunningham.htm

[13] Pat Chung: http://media.weei.com/football/pat-chung.htm

[14] Steve Gregory: http://media.weei.com/football/steve-gregory.htm

[15] Aqib Talib: http://media.weei.com/football/aqib-talib.htm

[16] Brandon Lloyd: http://media.weei.com/football/brandon-lloyd.htm

[17] Logan Mankins: http://media.weei.com/football/logan-mankins.htm

[18] Matthew Slater: http://media.weei.com/football/matthew-slater.htm

[19] Rob Ninkovich: http://media.weei.com/football/rob-ninkovich.htm

[20] > Following the flags: Tracking Patriots penalties for 2012 season" data-url="http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/12/04/following-the-flags-tracking-patriots-penalties-for-2012-season-10/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[21]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.