- It Is What It Is - http://itiswhatitis.weei.com -

Target Practice: Tracking opportunities in Patriots passing game

Posted By Christopher Price On December 11, 2012 @ 6:43 am In General | 4 Comments

Targets have been compiled by the NFL since the start of the 2009 season, and while it remains an imperfect stat ‘€” a badly thrown ball from a quarterback can often go against the record of the receiver as opposed to the quarterback ‘€” it remains a good indication of the confidence level a passer might have in his pass catcher. Here’€™s a look at the target breakdown for the New England passing game through the first 13 games of the 2012 regular season:

WR Wes Welker [1]:
95 catches on 142 targets
WR Brandon Lloyd [2]: 57 catches on 98 targets
TE Rob Gronkowski [3]: 53 catches on 75 targets
TE Aaron Hernandez [4]: 35 catches on 51 targets
RB Danny Woodhead [5]: 28 catches on 35 targets
WR Julian Edelman [6]: 21 catches on 32 targets
WR Deion Branch [7]: Nine catches on 20 targets
RB Shane Vereen [8]: Seven catches on 12 targets
RB Stevan Ridley: Six catches on 11 targets
TE Daniel Fells: Three catches on nine targets
RB Brandon Bolden: Two catches on two targets
TE Michael Hoomanawanui: Two catches on three targets
TE Kellen Winslow [9]: One catch on two targets
WR Donte’ Stallworth: One catch on two targets
TE Visanthe Shiancoe: Zero catches on one target

TOTALS: 320 catches on 495 targets

By position
Wide receiver: 183 catches on 294 targets
Tight end: 94 catches on 141 targets
Running back: 43 catches on 60 targets

By way of comparison, here’s a look at how the targets broke down through 13 games last season. [10]


Article printed from It Is What It Is: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com

URL to article: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/12/11/target-practice-tracking-opportunities-in-patriots-passing-game-11/

URLs in this post:

[1] Wes Welker: http://media.weei.com/football/wes-welker.htm

[2] Brandon Lloyd: http://media.weei.com/football/brandon-lloyd.htm

[3] Rob Gronkowski: http://media.weei.com/football/rob-gronkowski.htm

[4] Aaron Hernandez: http://media.weei.com/football/aaron-hernandez.htm

[5] Danny Woodhead: http://media.weei.com/football/danny-woodhead.htm

[6] Julian Edelman: http://media.weei.com/football/julian-edelman.htm

[7] Deion Branch: http://media.weei.com/football/deion-branch.htm

[8] Shane Vereen: http://media.weei.com/football/shane-vereen.htm

[9] Kellen Winslow: http://media.weei.com/football/kellen-winslow.htm

[10] By way of comparison, here’s a look at how the targets broke down through 13 games last season.: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2011/12/13/target-practice-who-has-been-tom-bradys-favorite-receiver-through-13-games/

[11] > Target Practice: Tracking opportunities in Patriots passing game" data-url="http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/12/11/target-practice-tracking-opportunities-in-patriots-passing-game-11/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.