- It Is What It Is - http://itiswhatitis.weei.com -

Bill Belichick returns the favor to Doc Rivers: ‘I have a lot of respect for Doc’

Posted By Mike Petraglia On December 12, 2012 @ 5:16 pm In General | 25 Comments

FOXBORO — On Tuesday, Doc Rivers [1] expressed his gratitude to Bill Belichick [2] for letting him sit in on an offensive game plan meeting prior to Monday night’s game.

On Wednesday, Belichick essentially said the pleasure was all his.

“It was great to have Doc here,” Belichick said. “I have a lot of respect for Doc and the program the Celtics [3] run. I think he does a tremendous job coaching his team. I really admire the way his teams play, the way his players play. I think he has great leadership from a lot of those guys and has had it through the years. Certainly Kevin [Kevin Garnett [4]] and Paul [Paul Pierce [5]] and guys like that. We’€™ve learned a lot from watching them.”

Has Belichick ever sat in on pregame Celtics meetings like Rivers did on Monday?

“We talk. We exchange ideas,” Belichick said. “I’€™m certainly pulling for them and I know they’€™re pulling for us. We definitely have a rooting interest in it but beyond that, on a professional level, I think there’€™s certainly a lot that I’€™ve learned from watching Doc and the Celtics and the way they do a lot of things organizationally and his coaching style and some of the things he’€™s talked to me about the way he’€™s handled players and handled different situations and things like that. He’€™s talked to our team and said a lot of things that really made sense and really hit home. I’€™ve had an opportunity to talk to his guys a couple times. We have a good relationship. We’€™ve probably both learned from each other.”

In keeping with the light-hearted NBA theme toward the end of Belichick’s presser Wednesday, he was asked if it would be a good idea to just wave at the coach at the end of the game like they do in the NBA instead of a handshake?

“That would kill the ratings, wouldn’€™t it? [laughter],” Belichick with the obvious reference to the hype over previous encounters with the likes of Eric Mangini [6] and Rex Ryan [7].

Does Belichick think they’€™ll sponsor the end of game handshake?

“That will be next. Please don’€™t suggest that,” Belichick said.

The acting genius of Belichick inspired the question of whether he approached another celebrity Monday night for advice – Mark Wahlberg.

“I didn’€™t. I don’€™t think I’€™ll need any of those for awhile,” Belichick quipped.


Article printed from It Is What It Is: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com

URL to article: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/12/12/bill-belichick-returns-the-favor-to-doc-rivers-i-have-a-lot-of-respect-for-doc/

URLs in this post:

[1] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[2] Bill Belichick: http://media.weei.com/football/bill-belichick.htm

[3] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[5] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[6] Eric Mangini: http://media.weei.com/football/eric-mangini.htm

[7] Rex Ryan: http://media.weei.com/football/rex-ryan.htm

[8] > Bill Belichick returns the favor to Doc Rivers: ‘I have a lot of respect for Doc’" data-url="http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/12/12/bill-belichick-returns-the-favor-to-doc-rivers-i-have-a-lot-of-respect-for-doc/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.