- It Is What It Is - http://itiswhatitis.weei.com -

Following the flags: Tracking Patriots penalties for 2012 season

Posted By Christopher Price On December 18, 2012 @ 8:08 pm In General | 1 Comment

Through 14 games, the Patriots have been flagged for 87 penalties (tied for 22nd in the league) for a total of 753 yards (20th in the league). Here’€™s a breakdown of the calls that have gone against the Patriots this year, not including penalties that were declined or offset:

Most penalized players, listed by total flags and with total yardage lost:
Team: Seven penalties (illegal formation, two illegal shift, illegal block above the waist, defensive holding, two 12 men on the field), 36 yards
LB Jerod Mayo [1]: five penalties (two defensive pass interference, unnecessary roughness, illegal contact, roughing the passer) 43 yards
LB Brandon Spikes [2]: five penalties (two defensive holding, unnecessary roughness, roughing the passer, encroachment), 41 yards
DL Vince Wilfork [3]: five penalties (three encroachment, defensive offsides, facemask), 35 yards
TE Rob Gronkowski [4]: four penalties (two offensive holding, false start, offensive pass interference), 35 yards
CB Kyle Arrington [5]: three penalties (two defensive pass interference, defensive holding), 60 yards
CB Devin McCourty [6]: three penalties (defensive holding, two defensive pass interference), 51 yards
TE Aaron Hernandez [7]: three penalties (two offensive pass interference, false start), 25 yards
OL Donald Thomas: three penalties (false start, two offensive holding), 25 yards
CB Alfonzo Dennard: three penalties (defensive holding, two unnecessary roughness), 21 yards
OT Sebastian Vollmer [8]: three penalties (illegal formation, false start, offensive holding), 20 yards
TE Daniel Fells: three penalties (false start, offensive pass interference, offensive holding), 18 yards
DE Chandler Jones: three penalties (encroachment, two defensive offsides) 15 yards

G Logan Mankins [9]: three penalties (two false starts, low block), 13 yards
S Pat Chung [10]: two penalties (facemask, defensive pass interference), 55 yards
CB Aqib Talib [11]: two penalties (two defensive pass interference), 49 yards
QB Tom Brady [12]: two penalties (two intentional grounding), 19 yards
CB Ras-I Dowling: two penalties (defensive pass interference, defensive holding), 19 yards
WR Julian Edelman [13]: two penalties (false start, offensive pass interference), 15 yards
OT Nate Solder [14]: two penalties (offensive holding, false start), 15 yards
ST Nate Ebner: two penalties (false start, offensive holding), 15 yards
ST Niko Koutouvides: two penalties (defensive holding, illegal block above the waist), 14 yards
DL Jermaine Cunningham [15]: two penalties (encroachment, defensive holding), 10 yards
RB Stevan Ridley: two penalties (false start, chop block), 5 yards
S Steve Gregory [16]: one penalty (personal foul), 15 yards
ST Mike Rivera: one penalty (offensive holding), 10 yards
OL Dan Connolly [17]: one penalty (holding) 10 yards
WR Brandon Lloyd [18]: one penalty (offensive pass interference), 10 yards
LB Dont’€™a Hightower: one penalty (defensive holding), 10 yards
C Ryan Wendell: one penalty (offensive holding), 10 yards
S Tavon Wilson: one penalty (offensive holding’€“punt return team), 10 yards
ST Marquice Cole: one penalty (offensive holding), 7 yards
LS Danny Aiken: one penalty (false start) 5 yards
ST Matthew Slater [19]: one penalty (offsides on free kick), 5 yards
DE Trevor Scott [20]: one penalty (neutral zone infraction), 5 yards
DL Jake Bequette: one penalty (encroachment), 5 yards
ST James Develin: one penalty (offensive holding), 3 yards
DE Rob Ninkovich [21]: one penalty (encroachment) 3 yards

Most penalized by position:
Cornerback: 13 penalties for 195 yards
Offensive line: 13 penalties for 93 yards
Defensive line: 13 penalties for 73 yards
Linebacker: 11 penalties for 89 yards
Tight end: 10 penalties for 78 yards
Specialists (punter, kicker, long snapper, kick/punt units): 10 penalties for 69 yards
Team: Seven penalties for 36 yards
Safety: Three penalties for 70 yards
Wide receiver: Three penalties for 25 yards
Quarterback: Two penalties for 19 yards
Running back: Two penalties for 5 yards

Most frequently called penalties:
Offensive holding: 14
False start: 12
Defensive pass interference: 10
Defensive holding: Nine
Encroachment: Eight
Offensive pass interference: Six
Unnecessary roughness: Four
Defensive offsides: Four
Illegal shift: Two
Roughing the passer: Two
Illegal block above the waist: Two
Illegal formation: Two
Intentional grounding: Two
Facemask: Two
12 men on the field: Two
Personal foul: One
Offsides on free kick: One
Illegal contact: One
Chop block: One
Neutral zone infraction: One
Low block: One

Here’€™s a look at the Patriots’€™ penalty breakdown through 14 games last year.


Article printed from It Is What It Is: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com

URL to article: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/12/18/following-the-flags-tracking-patriots-penalties-for-2012-season-12/

URLs in this post:

[1] Jerod Mayo: http://media.weei.com/football/jerod-mayo.htm

[2] Brandon Spikes: http://media.weei.com/football/brandon-spikes.htm

[3] Vince Wilfork: http://media.weei.com/football/vince-wilfork.htm

[4] Rob Gronkowski: http://media.weei.com/football/rob-gronkowski.htm

[5] Kyle Arrington: http://media.weei.com/football/kyle-arrington.htm

[6] Devin McCourty: http://media.weei.com/football/devin-mccourty.htm

[7] Aaron Hernandez: http://media.weei.com/football/aaron-hernandez.htm

[8] Sebastian Vollmer: http://media.weei.com/football/sebastian-vollmer.htm

[9] Logan Mankins: http://media.weei.com/football/logan-mankins.htm

[10] Pat Chung: http://media.weei.com/football/pat-chung.htm

[11] Aqib Talib: http://media.weei.com/football/aqib-talib.htm

[12] Tom Brady: http://media.weei.com/football/tom-brady.htm

[13] Julian Edelman: http://media.weei.com/football/julian-edelman.htm

[14] Nate Solder: http://media.weei.com/football/nate-solder.htm

[15] Jermaine Cunningham: http://media.weei.com/football/jermaine-cunningham.htm

[16] Steve Gregory: http://media.weei.com/football/steve-gregory.htm

[17] Dan Connolly: http://media.weei.com/football/dan-connolly.htm

[18] Brandon Lloyd: http://media.weei.com/football/brandon-lloyd.htm

[19] Matthew Slater: http://media.weei.com/football/matthew-slater.htm

[20] Trevor Scott: http://media.weei.com/football/trevor-scott.htm

[21] Rob Ninkovich: http://media.weei.com/football/rob-ninkovich.htm

[22] > Following the flags: Tracking Patriots penalties for 2012 season" data-url="http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/12/18/following-the-flags-tracking-patriots-penalties-for-2012-season-12/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[23]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.