- It Is What It Is - http://itiswhatitis.weei.com -

In Focus: Charting offensive opportunities for Patriots skill position players

Posted By Christopher Price On December 24, 2012 @ 2:19 pm In General | No Comments

Every week over the course of the regular season, we’€™ll present a list of the Patriots’€™ ‘€œoffensive touches,’€ a running tally of which one of the offensive skill position players is getting the most looks. Like our weekly look at targets [1], it can occasionally be an inexact stat, but it remains a good barometer of how confident the coaches (and quarterback) are when it comes to the skill position players at their disposal. Fifteen games into the regular season, here’€™s a breakdown of the New England offense for 2012:

RB Stevan Ridley: 276 (270 rushes, 6 catches). 24 negative runs.
WR Wes Welker [2]: 111 (1 rush, 110 catches). 2 negative receptions.
RB Danny Woodhead [3]: 108 (73 rushes, 35 catches). 2 negative runs, 2 negative receptions.
WR Brandon Lloyd [4]: 73 (0 rushes, 73 catches).
RB Shane Vereen [5]: 62 (54 rushes, 8 catches). 3 negative run.
TE Rob Gronkowski [6]: 53 (0 rushes, 53 catches).
RB Brandon Bolden: 52 (50 rushes, 2 catches). 8 negative runs.
TE Aaron Hernandez [7]: 47 (1 rush, 46 catches). 2 negative receptions.
WR Julian Edelman [8]: 25 (4 rushes, 21 catches). 1 negative reception, 1 negative run.
QB Tom Brady [9]: 23 (23 rushes, 0 catches.) 26 sacks, 8 kneel downs, 1 negative run.
WR Deion Branch [10]: 15 (0 rushes, 15 catches).
QB Ryan Mallett [11]: 8 (8 rushes, all kneel downs).
TE Michael Hoomanawanui: 5 (0 rushes, 5 catches).
TE Daniel Fells: 4 (0 rushes, 4 catches).
TE Kellen Winslow [12]: 1 (0 rushes, 1 catch).
WR Donte Stallworth: 1 (0 rushes, 1 catch)
RB Lex Hilliard [13]: 1 (1 rush, 0 catches)
TOTAL: 865 touches (485 rushes, 380 catches): 46 negative plays, plus 26 sacks and 16 kneel downs.

By position
Running back: 499 touches (448 rushes, 51 catches). 37 negative runs, 2 negative receptions.
Wide receiver: 225 touches (5 rushes, 220 catches). 3 negative receptions, 1 negative run.
Tight end: 110 touches (1 rush, 109 catches). 2 negative receptions.
Quarterback: 31 touches (31 rushes, 0 catches), 1 negative run.


Article printed from It Is What It Is: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com

URL to article: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/12/24/in-focus-charting-offensive-opportunities-for-patriots-skill-position-players-13/

URLs in this post:

[1] Like our weekly look at targets: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/tag/targets/

[2] Wes Welker: http://media.weei.com/football/wes-welker.htm

[3] Danny Woodhead: http://media.weei.com/football/danny-woodhead.htm

[4] Brandon Lloyd: http://media.weei.com/football/brandon-lloyd.htm

[5] Shane Vereen: http://media.weei.com/football/shane-vereen.htm

[6] Rob Gronkowski: http://media.weei.com/football/rob-gronkowski.htm

[7] Aaron Hernandez: http://media.weei.com/football/aaron-hernandez.htm

[8] Julian Edelman: http://media.weei.com/football/julian-edelman.htm

[9] Tom Brady: http://media.weei.com/football/tom-brady.htm

[10] Deion Branch: http://media.weei.com/football/deion-branch.htm

[11] Ryan Mallett: http://media.weei.com/football/ryan-mallett.htm

[12] Kellen Winslow: http://media.weei.com/football/kellen-winslow.htm

[13] Lex Hilliard: http://media.weei.com/football/lex-hilliard.htm

[14] > In Focus: Charting offensive opportunities for Patriots skill position players" data-url="http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/12/24/in-focus-charting-offensive-opportunities-for-patriots-skill-position-players-13/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[15]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.