- It Is What It Is - http://itiswhatitis.weei.com -

Target Practice: Tracking opportunities in Patriots passing game

Posted By Christopher Price On December 24, 2012 @ 1:37 pm In General | No Comments

Targets have been compiled by the NFL since the start of the 2009 season, and while it remains an imperfect stat ‘€” a badly thrown ball from a quarterback can often go against the record of the receiver as opposed to the quarterback ‘€” it remains a good indication of the confidence level a passer might have in his pass catcher. Here’€™s a look at the target breakdown for the New England passing game through the first 15 games of the 2012 regular season:

WR Wes Welker [1]: 110 catches on 163 targets
WR Brandon Lloyd [2]: 73 catches on 126 targets
TE Rob Gronkowski [3]: 53 catches on 75 targets
TE Aaron Hernandez [4]: 46 catches on 75 targets
RB Danny Woodhead [5]: 35 catches on 50 targets
WR Julian Edelman [6]: 21 catches on 32 targets
WR Deion Branch [7]: 15 catches on 28 targets
RB Shane Vereen [8]: Eight catches on 13 targets
RB Stevan Ridley: Six catches on 14 targets
TE Michael Hoomanawanui: Five catches on six targets
TE Daniel Fells: Four catches on 10 targets
RB Brandon Bolden: Two catches on two targets
TE Kellen Winslow [9]: One catch on two targets
WR Donte’€™ Stallworth: One catch on two targets
TE Visanthe Shiancoe: Zero catches on one target
TOTALS: 380 catches on 599 targets

By position
Wide receiver: 220 catches on 351 targets
Tight end: 109 catches on 169 targets
Running back: 51 catches on 79 targets


Article printed from It Is What It Is: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com

URL to article: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/12/24/target-practice-tracking-opportunities-in-patriots-passing-game-13/

URLs in this post:

[1] Wes Welker: http://media.weei.com/football/wes-welker.htm

[2] Brandon Lloyd: http://media.weei.com/football/brandon-lloyd.htm

[3] Rob Gronkowski: http://media.weei.com/football/rob-gronkowski.htm

[4] Aaron Hernandez: http://media.weei.com/football/aaron-hernandez.htm

[5] Danny Woodhead: http://media.weei.com/football/danny-woodhead.htm

[6] Julian Edelman: http://media.weei.com/football/julian-edelman.htm

[7] Deion Branch: http://media.weei.com/football/deion-branch.htm

[8] Shane Vereen: http://media.weei.com/football/shane-vereen.htm

[9] Kellen Winslow: http://media.weei.com/football/kellen-winslow.htm

[10] > Target Practice: Tracking opportunities in Patriots passing game" data-url="http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/12/24/target-practice-tracking-opportunities-in-patriots-passing-game-13/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.