- It Is What It Is - http://itiswhatitis.weei.com -

Pressure Points: Which Pats defenders have done best job getting after QB in 2012?

Posted By Christopher Price On January 1, 2013 @ 2:00 pm In General | No Comments

The Patriots finished the 2012 regular season with 66 quarterback hits and 37 sacks as a team (tied for 15th in the league). Based on gamebooks, here’€™s a quick look at some pass-rush numbers for the Patriots this season:

Quarterback hits
DE Rob Ninkovich [1]: 12
DE Chandler Jones: 10
LB Dont’€™a Hightower: Nine
DL Justin Francis [2]: Seven
DE Jermaine Cunningham [3]: Six
LB Jerod Mayo [4]: Five
DE Trevor Scott [5]: Five
LB Brandon Spikes [6]: Four
DL Vince Wilfork [7]: Three
DL Brandon Deaderick: Two
DL Kyle Love: One
CB Kyle Arrington [8]: One
CB Derrick Martin: One

Sacks
Ninkovich: 8.5 (51 yards)
Jones: 6 (33 yards)
Hightower: 4 (21 yards)
Scott: 3.5 (9 yards)
Wilfork: 3 (32 yards)
Mayo: 3 (24 yards)
Francis: 3 (8 yards)
Cunningham: 2.5 (21 yards)
Love: 1.5 (4 yards)
Deaderick: 1 (7 yards)
Martin: 1 (4 yards)

Last season, the Patriots had 88 quarterback hits and 40 sacks. [9]


Article printed from It Is What It Is: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com

URL to article: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2013/01/01/pressure-points-which-pats-defenders-have-done-best-job-getting-after-qb-in-2012-10/

URLs in this post:

[1] Rob Ninkovich: http://media.weei.com/football/rob-ninkovich.htm

[2] Justin Francis: http://media.weei.com/football/justin-francis-rutgers.htm

[3] Jermaine Cunningham: http://media.weei.com/football/jermaine-cunningham.htm

[4] Jerod Mayo: http://media.weei.com/football/jerod-mayo.htm

[5] Trevor Scott: http://media.weei.com/football/trevor-scott.htm

[6] Brandon Spikes: http://media.weei.com/football/brandon-spikes.htm

[7] Vince Wilfork: http://media.weei.com/football/vince-wilfork.htm

[8] Kyle Arrington: http://media.weei.com/football/kyle-arrington.htm

[9] Last season, the Patriots had 88 quarterback hits and 40 sacks.: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2012/01/03/pressure-points-which-new-england-defenders-did-the-best-job-of-getting-after-the-quarterback-this-season/

[10] > Pressure Points: Which Pats defenders have done best job getting after QB in 2012?" data-url="http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2013/01/01/pressure-points-which-pats-defenders-have-done-best-job-getting-after-qb-in-2012-10/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.