- It Is What It Is - http://itiswhatitis.weei.com -

Jerod Mayo and friends explain ‘The Patriot Way’ and what it means now

Posted By Mike Petraglia On January 16, 2013 @ 4:05 pm In General | 1 Comment

FOXBORO — The “Patriot Way’ means different things to different people, even inside the Patriots locker room.

So while, Ravens wide receiver was boldly predicting this year’s AFC championship ‘we’ll make it different, we’re gonna win,” Tom Brady [1], Vince Wilfork [2] and Jerod Mayo [3] we’re humbly talking about what it’s like to be a part of a team where the individual doesn’t matter.

“I think Coach [Bill Belichick [4]] always talks about doing your job,” Brady said. “You do your job so that everyone around you can do their job. When people trust each other, then you can play with anticipation and confidence and ultimately go out there and play aggressively. There’€™s no really no secret to it. It’€™s just coach puts a lot of pressure on us in practice every day to perform at a high level. When we don’€™t, we certainly hear about it. When you show up to work every day, you better have your game face on because you’€™ll end up on the low light film the next morning. I think the guys bring that attitude every day and over the course of a long season, it results in enough wins to get us into the playoffs, give us a chance.”

Brady pointed to past Patriots greats who helped teach him the ‘Patriot Way’.

“I think I was one of those guys that had to learn that too,” he added. “Tedy Bruschi [5] took me aside and Willie McGinest [6] took me aside and Lawyer Milloy took me aside. I think that’€™s part of the responsibility as a veteran player that you learn from these experiences and you try to convey the message to some of the younger players so they don’€™t have to learn the hard way. A lot of times you have to learn the hard way in life.

Wilfork echoed Brady’s old-school teachings from great Patriots of the recent past.

“I learned a long time ago with Tedy Bruschi, Mike Vrabel [7], Willie McGinnest, Rodney Harrison [8], Richard Seymour [9], I learned from some of the best that played around here,” Wilfork said. “The first thing that comes to your mind is that you can’€™t be selfish playing here. It is not about you. It is about the team and if you buy into that you will be very successful, and that is the one thing that I think this organization has had for a long time. Guys that come in here that aren’€™t selfish and they put the team first because it is a team sport. It definitely is a team sport. You need everybody working on the same page. If you have one or two that are not you can be in big trouble. That is the Patriot Way. We put team first and we win as a team and we lose as a team. I have won a lot of games in my career being here and I wouldn’€™t change it for nothing.”

The other irony Wednesday was comment from Jerod Mayo, on a day when it snowed in the morning making the rush hour commute difficult. He reminded everyone of Adalius Thomas [10] without dropping his name. It was three years ago when Thomas, Randy Moss [11], Derrick Burgess [12] and Gary Guyton [13] were sent home for being late to an 8 a.m. meeting on the morning of a snow storm.

“The ‘Patriot Way’ to me, starts at the top with the Kraft family,” Mayo said. “Not only being a good football player, but being a good person and falling in line. If you want to be a good football team, you’€™ll never be stuck in rush hour traffic. You are the first one here and the last one to leave. I think guys really buy into that, guys that come from other teams, I think they follow the lead of the bulk of this team and it has worked well here.”

For more Patriots news, visit the team page at weei.com/patriots [14]. WEEI 93.7FM will broadcast the AFC Championship game between the Patriots and Ravens on Sunday, January 20 at 6:30 p.m.


Article printed from It Is What It Is: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com

URL to article: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2013/01/16/jerod-mayo-and-friends-explain-the-patriot-way-and-what-it-means-now/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tom Brady: http://media.weei.com/football/tom-brady.htm

[2] Vince Wilfork: http://media.weei.com/football/vince-wilfork.htm

[3] Jerod Mayo: http://media.weei.com/football/jerod-mayo.htm

[4] Bill Belichick: http://media.weei.com/football/bill-belichick.htm

[5] Tedy Bruschi: http://media.weei.com/football/tedy-bruschi.htm

[6] Willie McGinest: http://media.weei.com/football/willie-mcginest.htm

[7] Mike Vrabel: http://media.weei.com/football/mike-vrabel.htm

[8] Rodney Harrison: http://media.weei.com/football/rodney-harrison.htm

[9] Richard Seymour: http://media.weei.com/football/richard-seymour.htm

[10] Adalius Thomas: http://media.weei.com/football/adalius-thomas.htm

[11] Randy Moss: http://media.weei.com/football/randy-moss.htm

[12] Derrick Burgess: http://media.weei.com/football/derrick-burgess.htm

[13] Gary Guyton: http://media.weei.com/football/gary-guyton.htm

[14] weei.com/patriots: http://www.weei.com/patriots

[15] > Jerod Mayo and friends explain ‘The Patriot Way’ and what it means now" data-url="http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2013/01/16/jerod-mayo-and-friends-explain-the-patriot-way-and-what-it-means-now/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[16]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.