- It Is What It Is - http://itiswhatitis.weei.com -

Third-quarter notes: Ravens 14, Patriots 13

Posted By Christopher Price On January 20, 2013 @ 8:59 pm In General | 1 Comment

FOXBORO — The third quarter is done at Gillette Stadium [1], and the Ravens hold a 14-13 lead. Here are a few quick notes:

‘€¢The Patriots started their first drive of the second half with their worst field position of the night — their own 9-yard line. A 24-yard connection from Tom Brady [2] to Wes Welker [3] was amplified by a personal foul on Bernard Pollard [4] for a post-completion hit on the receiver. That got the Patriots to the Baltimore 36-yard line, but a Welker drop on third down — it would have been good for a first down if he had caught the ball — forced a New England punt.

‘€¢The Ravens took advantage and had their best drive of the quarter on the ensuing possession — that’s when Joe Flacco [5] really turned it up, going down field with a 22-yarder to Dennis Pitta and adding a 15-yarder to Ray Rice [6]. The Ravens took the lead on a five-yard pass from Flacco to Pitta (one play after Pitta was absolutely crushed by linebacker Jerod Mayo [7] on a reception) to make it 14-13 with 6:14 left in the third quarter. It was an impressive 10-play, 87-yard drive for the Ravens, who appeared (at least for that drive) to move away from a reliance on the deep ball for more underneath stuff. Regardless, the two scoring drives for Baltimore went 90 and 87 yards.

‘€¢The Ravens were knocking on the door at the end of the third quarter, thanks to another nice sequence that started in earnest with a 23-yard completion from Flacco to Torrey Smith [8] — at Alfonzo Dennard‘s expense — that got Baltimore into New England territory. Bernard Pierce picked up 11 yards on a third-down run, and the Ravens were into the Patriots’ red zone.


Article printed from It Is What It Is: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com

URL to article: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2013/01/20/third-quarter-notes-ravens-14-patriots-13/

URLs in this post:

[1] Gillette Stadium: http://media.weei.com/football/gillette-stadium.htm

[2] Tom Brady: http://media.weei.com/football/tom-brady.htm

[3] Wes Welker: http://media.weei.com/football/wes-welker.htm

[4] Bernard Pollard: http://media.weei.com/football/bernard-pollard.htm

[5] Joe Flacco: http://media.weei.com/football/joe-flacco.htm

[6] Ray Rice: http://media.weei.com/football/ray-rice.htm

[7] Jerod Mayo: http://media.weei.com/football/jerod-mayo.htm

[8] Torrey Smith: http://media.weei.com/football/torrey-smith.htm

[9] > Third-quarter notes: Ravens 14, Patriots 13" data-url="http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2013/01/20/third-quarter-notes-ravens-14-patriots-13/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.