- It Is What It Is - http://itiswhatitis.weei.com -

Andrew Luck replaces Tom Brady on AFC Pro Bowl squad, Logan Mankins, Wes Welker and Vince Wilfork also out

Posted By Mike Petraglia On January 21, 2013 @ 7:38 pm In General | 20 Comments

Tom Brady [1] is again politely declining a trip to Hawaii to play in the NFL’s greatest exhibition game.

Andrew Luck [2] had one of the best seasons any rookie quarterback has ever had in living up to his No. 1 overall draft billing coming into the 2012 season.

On Monday, the Indianapolis Colts [3] rookie was rewarded with a trip to Hawaii to replace Brady in the in the Pro Bowl [4]. Brady was excused from the Pro Bowl with an undisclosed injury.

Brady was selected to his eighth Pro Bowl game in late December but hasn’t played the last six times he’s been selected. He played in Feb. 2002 after winning the Super Bowl [5] and he played in Feb. 2005 after the 2004 season but hasn’t played since, as he has been designated as injured and has been replaced.

It appears Brady won’t be alone in turning down the leis in paradise. Jeff Howe of the Boston Herald reports Wes Welker [6], Logan Mankins [7] and Vince Wilfork [8] have also taken their names out of the Pro Bowl due to various injuries. Linebacker Jerod Mayo [9] and special teams captain Matthew Slater [10] were also selected but remain on the Pro Bowl roster.

As for Luck, through Week 9, Luck had thrown for the same number of yards as his predecessor, Peyton Manning [11], did in his first season in Denver.

His legend began to truly grow in Week 13 against the Lions. Luck and the Colts were trailing 33-28 with 1:07 left. He was able to get to the Lions’ 14 yard line and faced a fourth down with three seconds left. Luck then threw a screen pass to Donnie Avery [12] who got free and ran in for the winning score.

The win gave Luck his eighth on the season – the most wins by a rookie quarterback drafted first overall in NFL history, as well as his fifth game-winning drive on the season, tying Vince Young [13] and Ben Roethlisberger [14] for the most by a rookie quarterback. On Dec. 23, 2012, Luck broke the record for most passing yards by a rookie against the Kansas City Chiefs [15], throwing 205 to bring his season total to 4,183. Cam Newton [16] held the previous record with 4,051 yards.

Luck advanced the Colts, one season removed from 2-14, to the the playoffs, where they lost to the Ravens in Baltimore.


Article printed from It Is What It Is: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com

URL to article: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2013/01/21/andrew-luck-replaces-tom-brady-on-afc-squad-in-pro-bowl/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tom Brady: http://media.weei.com/football/tom-brady.htm

[2] Andrew Luck: http://media.weei.com/football/andrew-luck-stanford.htm

[3] Indianapolis Colts: http://media.weei.com/football/indianapolis-colts.htm

[4] Pro Bowl: http://media.weei.com/football/pro-bowl.htm

[5] Super Bowl: http://media.weei.com/football/super-bowl.htm

[6] Wes Welker: http://media.weei.com/football/wes-welker.htm

[7] Logan Mankins: http://media.weei.com/football/logan-mankins.htm

[8] Vince Wilfork: http://media.weei.com/football/vince-wilfork.htm

[9] Jerod Mayo: http://media.weei.com/football/jerod-mayo.htm

[10] Matthew Slater: http://media.weei.com/football/matthew-slater.htm

[11] Peyton Manning: http://media.weei.com/football/peyton-manning.htm

[12] Donnie Avery: http://media.weei.com/football/donnie-avery.htm

[13] Vince Young: http://media.weei.com/football/vince-young.htm

[14] Ben Roethlisberger: http://media.weei.com/football/ben-roethlisberger.htm

[15] Kansas City Chiefs: http://media.weei.com/football/kansas-city-chiefs.htm

[16] Cam Newton: http://media.weei.com/football/cam-newton.htm

[17] > Andrew Luck replaces Tom Brady on AFC Pro Bowl squad, Logan Mankins, Wes Welker and Vince Wilfork also out" data-url="http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2013/01/21/andrew-luck-replaces-tom-brady-on-afc-squad-in-pro-bowl/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[18]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.