- It Is What It Is - http://itiswhatitis.weei.com -

Following the flags: Tracking Patriots penalties for 2012 postseason

Posted By Christopher Price On January 22, 2013 @ 10:04 pm In General | No Comments

This past postseason, the Patriots were flagged for 9 penalties for a total of 96 yards. Here’€™s a breakdown of the calls that went against the Patriots in their two playoff games, not including penalties that were declined or offset:

Most penalized players, listed by total flags and with total yardage lost (one penalty each):
K Stephen Gostkowski [1] (horse collar tackle) 15 yards
WR Brandon Lloyd [2] (unsportsmanlike conduct) 15 yards
CB Alfonzo Dennard (defensive pass interference) 15 yards
S Steve Gregory [3] (unnecessary roughness) 15 yards
TE Aaron Hernandez [4] (offensive pass interference) 10 yards
OL Nate Solder [5] (offensive holding) 10 yards
CB./ST Aqib Talib [6] (offensive holding-punt team) 10 yards
Team (defensive offsides) 5 yards
DL Justin Francis [7] (defensive offsides) 1 yard

Most penalized by position:
Specialists (punter, kicker, long snapper, kick/punt units): Two penalties for 25 yards
Wide receiver: One penalty for 15 yards
Cornerback: One penalty for 15 yards
Safety: One penalty for 15 yards
Tight end: One penalty for 10 yards
Offensive line: One penalty for 10 yards
Team: One penalty for 5 yards
Defensive line: One penalty for 1 yard

Most frequently called penalties:
Offensive holding: Two
Defensive offsides: Two
Horse collar tackle: One
Unsportsmanlike conduct: One
Defensive pass interference: One
Offensive pass interference: One
Unnecessary roughness: One

On the regular season, the Patriots were hit with 97 penalties for 840 yards. [8]

 


Article printed from It Is What It Is: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com

URL to article: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2013/01/22/following-the-flags-tracking-patriots-penalties-for-2012-postseason/

URLs in this post:

[1] Stephen Gostkowski: http://media.weei.com/football/stephen-gostkowski.htm

[2] Brandon Lloyd: http://media.weei.com/football/brandon-lloyd.htm

[3] Steve Gregory: http://media.weei.com/football/steve-gregory.htm

[4] Aaron Hernandez: http://media.weei.com/football/aaron-hernandez.htm

[5] Nate Solder: http://media.weei.com/football/nate-solder.htm

[6] Aqib Talib: http://media.weei.com/football/aqib-talib.htm

[7] Justin Francis: http://media.weei.com/football/justin-francis-rutgers.htm

[8] On the regular season, the Patriots were hit with 97 penalties for 840 yards.: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/tag/penalties/

[9] > Following the flags: Tracking Patriots penalties for 2012 postseason" data-url="http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2013/01/22/following-the-flags-tracking-patriots-penalties-for-2012-postseason/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.