- It Is What It Is - http://itiswhatitis.weei.com -

Target Practice: Tracking opportunities in Patriots passing game

Posted By Christopher Price On January 22, 2013 @ 11:27 pm In General | 6 Comments

Targets have been compiled by the NFL since the start of the 2009 season, and while it remains an imperfect stat ‘€” a badly thrown ball from a quarterback can often go against the record of the receiver as opposed to the quarterback ‘€” it remains a good indication of the confidence level a passer might have in his pass catcher. Here’€™s a look at the target breakdown for the New England passing game when it came to the 2012 postseason:

WR Wes Welker [1]: 16 catches on 25 targets
TE Aaron Hernandez [2]: 15 catches on 23 targets
WR Brandon Lloyd [3]: 12 catches on 23 targets
RB Shane Vereen [4]: 7 catches on 10 targets
WR Deion Branch [5]: 2 catches on 5 targets
RB Stevan Ridley: 1 catches on 2 targets
RB Danny Woodhead [6]: 1 catch on 3 targets
TE Rob Gronkowski [7]: 0 catches on 1 target
TOTALS: 54 catches on 92 targets

By position
Wide receiver: 30 catches on 53 targets
Tight end: 15 catches on 24 targets
Running back: 9 catches on 15 targets

Here’s a look at how targets broke down for the Patriots over the course of the 2012 regular season. [8]


Article printed from It Is What It Is: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com

URL to article: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2013/01/22/target-practice-tracking-opportunities-in-patriots-passing-game-15/

URLs in this post:

[1] Wes Welker: http://media.weei.com/football/wes-welker.htm

[2] Aaron Hernandez: http://media.weei.com/football/aaron-hernandez.htm

[3] Brandon Lloyd: http://media.weei.com/football/brandon-lloyd.htm

[4] Shane Vereen: http://media.weei.com/football/shane-vereen.htm

[5] Deion Branch: http://media.weei.com/football/deion-branch.htm

[6] Danny Woodhead: http://media.weei.com/football/danny-woodhead.htm

[7] Rob Gronkowski: http://media.weei.com/football/rob-gronkowski.htm

[8] Here’s a look at how targets broke down for the Patriots over the course of the 2012 regular season.: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2013/01/01/target-practice-tracking-opportunities-in-patriots-passing-game-14/

[9] > Target Practice: Tracking opportunities in Patriots passing game" data-url="http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2013/01/22/target-practice-tracking-opportunities-in-patriots-passing-game-15/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.