- It Is What It Is - http://itiswhatitis.weei.com -

In Focus: Charting offensive opportunities for Patriots skill position players

Posted By Christopher Price On January 23, 2013 @ 3:55 pm In General | No Comments

Every week, we present a list of the Patriots’€™ ‘€œoffensive touches,’€ a running tally of which one of the offensive skill position players is getting the most looks. Like our weekly look at targets [1], it can occasionally be an inexact stat, but it remains a good barometer of how confident the coaches (and quarterback) are when it comes to the skill position players at their disposal. Here’€™s a breakdown of the New England offense for the 2012 postseason:

RB Stevan Ridley: 34 (33 rushes, 1 catch), 3 negative runs
RB Shane Vereen [2]: 18 (11 rushes, 7 catches), 1 negative runs
WR Wes Welker [3]: 16 (0 rushes, 16 catches)
TE Aaron Hernandez [4]: 16 (1 rush, 15 catches)
WR Brandon Lloyd [5]: 12 (0 rushes, 12 catches)
RB Danny Woodhead [6]: 5 (4 rushes, 1 catch)
QB Tom Brady [7]: 3 (3 rushes), 1 sack, 1 kneel down
WR Deion Branch [8]: 2 (0 rushes, 2 catches)
TOTAL: 106 touches (52 rushes, 54 catches), 4 negative plays, plus 1 sack and 1 kneel down

By position:
Running back: 57 touches (48 rushes, 9 catches), 4 negative runs
Wide receiver: 30 touches (0 rushes, 30 catches)
Tight end: 16 touches (1 rush, 15 catches)
Quarterback: 3 (3 rushes)

Here’s a look at how the offensive opportunities broke down over the course of the 2012 regular season.


Article printed from It Is What It Is: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com

URL to article: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2013/01/23/in-focus-charting-offensive-opportunities-for-patriots-skill-position-players-15/

URLs in this post:

[1] Like our weekly look at targets: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/tag/targets/

[2] Shane Vereen: http://media.weei.com/football/shane-vereen.htm

[3] Wes Welker: http://media.weei.com/football/wes-welker.htm

[4] Aaron Hernandez: http://media.weei.com/football/aaron-hernandez.htm

[5] Brandon Lloyd: http://media.weei.com/football/brandon-lloyd.htm

[6] Danny Woodhead: http://media.weei.com/football/danny-woodhead.htm

[7] Tom Brady: http://media.weei.com/football/tom-brady.htm

[8] Deion Branch: http://media.weei.com/football/deion-branch.htm

[9] > In Focus: Charting offensive opportunities for Patriots skill position players" data-url="http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2013/01/23/in-focus-charting-offensive-opportunities-for-patriots-skill-position-players-15/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.