- It Is What It Is - http://itiswhatitis.weei.com -

Terrell Suggs: ‘I guarantee the other 31 teams hate the New England Patriots’

Posted By DJ Bean On February 27, 2013 @ 4:34 pm In General | 157 Comments

Ravens linebacker Terrell Suggs [1] joined The Big Show on Wednesday [2], discussing his frustration with the Patriots and explaining why he called them “the most arrogant pricks in the world” after Baltimore defeated New England in the AFC championship game.

“Do I apologize for what I said? No. Do I mean what I said? Yeah,” Suggs said. “Could I have worded it a little better? Probably, but the fact of the matter is you can’t really consider it a rivalry because you have a few more championships than we do, but this has been steaming for a while.”

Suggs pointed to the way Patriots players behaved when the teams met in the 2007 season as why he doesn’t like them, adding that the league bent over backward to accommodate Tom Brady [3] after his season-ending injury in 2008.

“There was the whole invention of the Brady rule,” he said. “Years before, I hit Drew Brees [4] and I accidentally tore his knee up. No rule was made. Of all the quarterbacks in the NFL who got their knees blown out when they got hit — Carson Palmer [5] got his knee blown out — but then one guy got hit and changed the whole rule for the NFL?”

Suggs said that he doesn’t feel the Patriots “respect anybody,” and that he “guarantees the other 31 teams hate the New England Patriots [6].”

He also added that players who have played in New England share stories of what’s wrong with the organization, though he wouldn’t specify.

“The NFL is not very big,” he said. “You think we don’t talk to guys that have played for the New England Patriots, that have been on the New England Patriots that have been like, ‘Oh, it’s been like this.’

“It ain’t just me. Why did Bart Scott [7] say the same thing? You think it’s just us? You think it’s just got something to do with us? No. This is because we have inside information. We know.”

For more on the Patriots, visit weei.com/patriots [8].


Article printed from It Is What It Is: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com

URL to article: http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2013/02/27/terrell-suggs-i-guarantee-the-other-31-teams-hate-the-new-england-patriots/

URLs in this post:

[1] Terrell Suggs: http://media.weei.com/football/terrell-suggs.htm

[2] joined The Big Show on Wednesday: http://audio.weei.com/a/71563376/terrell-suggs-with-the-big-show-do-i-apologize-for-what-i-said-about-the-patriots-no.htm

[3] Tom Brady: http://media.weei.com/football/tom-brady.htm

[4] Drew Brees: http://media.weei.com/football/drew-brees.htm

[5] Carson Palmer: http://media.weei.com/football/carson-palmer.htm

[6] New England Patriots: http://media.weei.com/football/new-england-patriots.htm

[7] Bart Scott: http://media.weei.com/football/bart-scott.htm

[8] weei.com/patriots: http://www.weei.com/patriots

[9] > Terrell Suggs: ‘I guarantee the other 31 teams hate the New England Patriots’" data-url="http://itiswhatitis.weei.com/sports/newengland/football/patriots/2013/02/27/terrell-suggs-i-guarantee-the-other-31-teams-hate-the-new-england-patriots/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.