It Is What It Is
Follow football writer Ryan Hannable at In addition, get the latest updates at
A Patriots Blog Blog Network

Pressure Points: Which Patriots defenders have done best job getting after QB in 2013?

12.31.13 at 8:45 am ET

Every week over the course of the 2013 season, we’€™€ provide a look at the Patriots pass rush numbers. While sacks can be overrated, when evaluated as part of a bigger picture that includes quarterback hits and quarterback pressures (the latter courtesy of Pro Football Focus), it should provide a good picture as to which defenders are consistently able to get after the quarterback. Over the course of the 2013 regular season, the Patriots had 48 sacks (fifth in the league, and the most for a New England team since the 1985 team had 51), 91 quarterback hits and 177 quarterback hurries. Based on the official NFL game books and PFF, here’€™€™s a look at the pass-rush numbers for the Patriots for the 2013 regular-season:

Quarterback sacks
DL Chandler Jones: 11.5 (74 yards)
DE Rob Ninkovich: 8 (38 yards)
DL Chris Jones: 6 (42 yards)
DL Sealver Siliga: 3 (26 yards)
DL Tommy Kelly: 2.5 (15 yards)
LB Dane Fletcher: 2 (19 yards)
DL Joe Vellano: 2 (18 yards)
DE Michael Buchanan: 2 (15 yards)
DE Andre Carter: 2 (12 yards)
CB Kyle Arrington: 2 (11 yards)
CB Logan Ryan: 1.5 (14 yards)
LB Jerod Mayo: 1.5 (5 yards)
LB Dont’€™€™a Hightower: 1 (9 yards)
DL Isaac Sopoaga: 1 (8 yards)
S Steve Gregory: 1 (0 yards)

Quarterback hits (per NFL game books)
DE Chandler Jones: 22
DE Rob Ninkovich: 17
DL Chris Jones: 8
DE Andre Carter: 7
DL Tommy Kelly: 6
DE Michael Buchanan: 5
LB Dont’€™€™a Hightower: 5
DL Joe Vellano: 4
LB Jamie Collins: 3
LB: Dane Fletcher: 3
CB Kyle Arrington: 2
DL Sealver Siliga: 2
LB Jerod Mayo: 2
CB Logan Ryan: 2
S Steve Gregory: 2
DL Vince Wilfork: 1
DE Jake Bequette: 1
DL Isaac Sopoaga: 1

Quarterback hurries (per PFF)
DE Rob Ninkovich: 46
DE Chandler Jones: 39
LB Dont’€™€™a Hightower: 13
DL Chris Jones: 13
DL Joe Vellano: 12
LB Brandon Spikes: 7
DE Michael Buchanan: 7
DL Tommy Kelly: 6
LB Jamie Collins: 6
DE Andre Carter: 5
DL Sealver Siliga: 5
LB Dane Fletcher: 4
DL Vince Wilfork: 3
DL Isaac Sopoaga: 3
LB Jerod Mayo: 2
CB Devin McCourty: 2
CB Marquice Cole: 1
CB Kyle Arrington: 1
DE Jake Bequette: 1
CB Alfonzo Dennard: 1

By way of comparison, here’s a look at pass rush numbers for the 2012 regular season.

Read More: pressure points,



Player News
2016 Mercedes-Benz E-Class
Patriots Headlines
NFL Headlines
Tips & Feedback