It Is What It Is
Follow football writer Ryan Hannable at In addition, get the latest updates at
A Patriots Blog Blog Network

Ty Law voted into Patriots Hall of Fame

05.19.14 at 6:47 pm ET

FOXBORO — In what might be a precursor to his ticket to Canton, Ty Law has been voted by fans as the 22nd person to enter the Patriots Hall of Fame, the team announced Monday.

The induction ceremony will be held on the NRG Plaza outside The Hall at Patriot Place presented by Raytheon on Aug. 1 at 4:30 p.m., just prior to the team’€™s annual in-stadium practice for season ticket members. The outdoor hall of fame ceremony is free and open to the public. Patriots fans of all ages are welcome and encouraged to attend. In addition, Law will be honored during a halftime ceremony at the Patriots Thursday night game on Oct. 16 against the Jets.

Law joins Tedy Bruschi (2013), Troy Brown (2012) and Drew Bledsoe (2011) as the only players to be selected by the fans into the Patriots Hall of Fame in their first year of eligibility.

Ty Law was one of the greatest players in franchise history and one of the premier corners in the NFL during his Patriots career,” said Patriots chairman and CEO Robert Kraft in a statement. “The fans have helped validate that with this year’€™s Hall of Fame selection. We have had an incredible run of success and the building blocks started with players like Ty. He was an important part of three Super Bowl championship teams. It will be an honor to bring Ty back to celebrate his career as he takes his rightful place in our team’€™s Hall of Fame. I am sure he will deliver another memorable moment during his Hall of Fame ceremony, too.”

In April, a 20-person nomination committee, comprised of media, alumni and staff, selected three candidates for consideration for the Patriots Hall of Fame. The three finalists were Law, Raymond Clayborn and Bill Parcells. Fans had a month to vote on for the candidate they believed was most deserving of hall of fame consideration.

Law spent 10 seasons with the Patriots (1995-2004) after joining the team as a first-round (23rd overall) draft pick out of Michigan in 1995. Law was a three-time Super Bowl Champion (XXXVI, XXXVIII, XXXIX), a four-time Pro Bowl player (1998, 2001, 2002, 2003) and a two-time All-Pro (1998, 2003) during his tenure with the Patriots. Law tied Clayborn’€™s career franchise-record with 36 interceptions and finished with the most interception return yards in team history with 583. His six interceptions returned for touchdowns are also a franchise best.

Law had nine interceptions in 1998 to become the first Patriots player to lead the NFL in that category. He was a playmaker who played some of his best games in the postseason. He helped lead the Patriots to their first Super Bowl title in 2001 when he intercepted a Kurt Warner pass against the Rams and returned it 47 yards for a touchdown for the first points of the game. In the 2003 AFC championship game, Law intercepted three Peyton Manning passes while leading the Patriots to a 24-14 victory over the Colts.

Law was part of a record-breaking Patriots defense in 2003 that led the NFL in five key categories: opponents points per game (14.9), interceptions (29), fewest touchdown receptions allowed (11), opponent€™s passer rating (56.2) and pass deflections (121) as the team captured its second Super Bowl title in a win over the Panthers. Law is a member of the NFL’€™s all-decade team for the 2000s as well as the Patriots’€™ all-1990s and all-2000s decade teams. He was also selected to the Patriots’€™ 50th Anniversary Team.

Beginning in 2007, the Patriots started a new Hall of Fame tradition, inducting one player or coach each year. The process for induction now involves a panel of media, alumni and staff, who collectively nominate the players or coaches most deserving of induction. After the nominations are made, the committee votes and the top three tallies become that year’€™s finalists. The Patriots then give their fans the opportunity to vote online to select each year’€™s winner.

Read More: Drew Bledsoe, New England Patriots, Tedy Bruschi, Troy Brown



Player News
2016 Mercedes-Benz E-Class
Patriots Headlines
NFL Headlines
Tips & Feedback